image article cover slow vs fast fashion

Slow Fashion vs Fast Fashion ?

Even today, the terms “slow fashion” and “ethical fashion” remain a bit vague in the minds of consumers, as only 25% of the French market has heard of slow fashion*. Slow fashion was born with the aim of countering the harmful effects of its opposite: fast fashion. Its guiding principle is to place respect for the environment and workers at its epicentre in order to offer ethical and sustainable fashion. Slow fashion says “Stop!” to overproduction and overconsumption. The latter is gaining ground and has gradually become mainstream in the fashion world.

In order to understand how slow fashion provides answers to the immense problems of the modern textile industry, we will first define fast fashion.

WHAT IS FAST FASHION?

Fast FashionFast fashion designates a phenomenon of very rapid renewal of clothing collections in the same season, or even every month, a transitory and disposable fashion. It is characterized by a rapid and incessant overproduction of clothing. Appeared in the 90s, the fast fashion movement is now carried by ready-to-wear brands around the world. As examples, we find Zara, H&M or Primark. These lattesr offer clothes inspired by trends spotted during Fashion Week shows at extremely low prices. But at what cost for humanity and the environment? With 1.7 billion tonnes of greenhouse gases emitted each year **, the fashion industry is the second most polluting industry in the world.

“Fashion is the language of the moment. “
– Miuccia Prada –
HOW DOES FAST FASHION POLLUTE?

In order to better understand what the pollution of the textile industry consists of, we must keep in mind that the direct consequences on the environment emanate from the manufacture of raw materials, their transformation to the transport and even the maintenance of our products. synthetic clothing (around 500,000 tonnes of plastic micro particles are released into the oceans each year). Did you know, for example, that the production of a standard cotton sweatshirt consumes 8,000 liters of water and 600 grams of chemicals or that jeans and their components travel on average 65,000 kilometers, or 1.5 times the round the Earth ***. Knowing that in total each year 100 billion clothes are produced per year ****… Slow fashion is proving to be the only alternative to this opportunistic, polluting and ultimately dangerous textile industry for humanity. It brings an ethical response to our nature and in the long term, to our species.

WHAT IS SLOW FASHION?

 

“We are what we wear”: “We are what we wear”. Slow fashion carries strong values revolving around the empowerment of each of us for our planet and its future. As soon as we realize what we are wearing, we can no longer ignore the impact that fast fashion has on our planet and our society. Slow fashion aims to put ethics and sustainability at the center of the entire process: from raw materials, through production and supply chain to the sale of the garment and its end of life. The primary objective of this movement is to put an end to waste, to preserve our environment and to take people into account: in short, an ethical, sustainable and committed fashion.

THOUGHTFUL CONSUMPTION

Thoughtful consumption: sustainable fashion. From the documentary “Clothes, don’t throw it away any more!” broadcast in 2016 on France 5, a woman buys an average of 30 kg of clothing per year in France, of which less than a quarter will be recycled and only 30% will be regularly worn. However, an Opinion Way study in 2014 also revealed that 86% of French people like to take their time before buying and that this amplifies their pleasure. In fact, these figures mean that the French prefer to think before acting. Fast-fashion is therefore in total contradiction to the wishes and nature of consumers in this country, and probably many others. Consumption thoughtful and in limited quantity is the only viable and responsible alternative today if we wish to put an end to the overproduction, as well as to the overexploitation of our natural resources.

“Clothes aren’t going to change the world, the women who wear them will. “
– Anne Klein –
ETHICS, SUSTAINABILITY AND PROFITABILITY

Favoring quality over quantity gives an ethical, sustainable but also profitable result. In other words: everything current fashion needs to take responsibility and regain its original values. Quality, protection of the environment and workers, fairness, limited production, are all values representing the brands of slow fashion.

Industry, brands and consumers take time to change their behavior and their habits, but awareness of all stakeholders is underway. The brands are multiplying the actions, such as the signing by different brands of the Fashion Pact or even Jules who foresees that by 2030, 100% of materials will come from recycled products, fibers and materials; to reduce their greenhouse gas (local production), have a Zero Waste approach (produce only what they are able to sell) while committing to a real CSR plan. Customers are also changing in their way of consuming by turning to second hand (4/10 French have converted *****), by favoring eco-labels and eco-committed brands (over the 12 in recent months, searches for eco-responsible clothing have increased by 50% in France ******). However, one of the main obstacles to responsible purchasing is the lack of information: but here again applications such as Clear Fashion, the Yuka of fashion, help consumers navigate their way.

“Buy Less. Choose Well. Make it last ”
– Vivienne Westwood –

The government is also trying to provide some answers by prohibiting, for example, the destruction of unsold items (which also generates a loss of value) and more generally by promulgating its law on the circular economy.

Beyond this awareness and the initiatives already launched, we must support and accompany this change. We must act so that the fashion industry transforms radically and sustainably to adapt to new consumer expectations, give meaning to the work of each employee, better protect all actors in the production chain, reduce its footprint on the planet and rediscover the paths of innovation and profitability and thus become eco-profitable.
Fashion data, thanks to its Steps and his solutions, puts smart data at the service of this new Zero Waste fashion business model.

Sources:
* emarketing
** wwf study on “fast fashion” published in 2017
*** The world
**** Novethic
***** Fashion Network
****** Fashion Network

Did you like this article ?

Do not hesitate to share

Read also

We are on Twitter

🤝 Day 2 pour #TechForRetail ! Après une 1ère journée riche d'échanges & de partages, la team est de nouveau prête pour vous accueillir et parler... Read more

Nov 29 2022, 8:53 am

🚀 #TechForRetail Jour J ! Rencontrez nos experts qui ont hâte d'échanger avec vous sur "Comment mettre la #data au service de votre performance économique et... Read more

Nov 28 2022, 9:41 am

🔠 Treize #marques de #textile françaises ont décidé de mettre en place un #Eco-score mesurant l'empreinte carbone des #vêtements vendus dans leurs #magasins... par @MagazineCapital #Fashion... Read more

Nov 24 2022, 5:30 pm

We you accompany towards a new Fashion Business Zero Waste

Tailer the platform retail data

Loader

Slow Fashion vs Fast Fashion ?

Encore aujourd’hui, les termes “slow fashion” et “mode éthique” demeurent un peu flous dans l’ esprit des consommateurs, en effet seulement 25% du marché français a entendu parler de slow fashion*. La slow fashion est née dans le but de contrer les effets néfastes engendrés par son opposée : la fast fashion. Elle a pour ligne de conduite de placer le respect de l’environnement et des travailleurs à son épicentre afin de proposer une mode éthique et durable. La slow fashion dit “Stop !” à la surproduction et la surconsommation. Cette dernière gagne du terrain et est petit à petit devenue mainstream dans le monde de la mode.

Afin de bien comprendre de quelle façon la slow fashion apporte des réponses aux problèmes immenses de l’industrie textile moderne, nous allons tout d’abord définir la fast fashion. 

 
Qu’est-ce que la fast fashion ?

Fast FashionLa fast fashion désigne un phénomène de renouvellement très rapide des collections de vêtements dans une même saison, voire chaque mois, une mode éphémère et jetable. Elle est caractérisée par une surproduction rapide et incessante de vêtements. Apparue dans les années 90, le mouvement de la fast fashion est aujourd’hui porté par des enseignes de prêt-à-porter du monde entier. En guise d’exemples, l’on trouve Zara, H&M ou encore Primark. Ces dernières proposent des vêtements inspirés des tendances repérées lors des défilés de la Fashion Week à prix extrêmement bas. Mais à quel coût pour l’humanité et l’environnement ? Avec 1,7 milliards de tonnes de gaz à effet de serre émis chaque année**, l’industrie de la mode est la deuxième industrie la plus polluante du monde.

« La mode est le langage de l’instant. » - Miuccia Prada -
COMMENT LA FAST FASHION POLLUE-T-ELLE ?

Afin de mieux comprendre en quoi consiste la pollution de l’industrie textile, il faut garder en tête que les conséquences directs sur l’environnement émanent de la fabrication des matières premières, de leur transformation jusqu’au transport et même l’entretien de nos vêtements synthétiques (environ 500 000 tonnes de micro particules de plastiques sont relâchées dans les océans chaque année). Saviez-vous, par exemple que la production d’un sweat en coton standard consomme 8 000 litres d’eau et 600 grammes de produits chimiques ou encore qu’un jean et ses composants parcourent en moyenne 65000 kilomètres, soit 1,5 fois le tour de la Terre***. Sachant qu’au total chaque année 100 milliards de vêtements sont produits par an****… La slow fashion se révèle être la seule alternative à cette industrie textile opportuniste, polluante et finalement dangereuse pour l’humanité. Elle apporte une réponse éthique à notre nature et à long terme, à notre espèce. 

 
Qu’est-ce que la slow fashion ?

 

“We are what we wear” : “Nous sommes ce que nous portons”. La slow fashion porte des valeurs fortes gravitant autour de la responsabilisation de chacun d’entre nous quant à notre planète et son avenir. Dès l’instant que nous prenons conscience de ce que nous portons sur nous, nous ne pouvons plus ignorer l’impact que la fast fashion a sur notre planète et notre société. La slow fashion a pour objectif de mettre l’éthique et du durable au centre de tout le processus : des matières premières, en passant par la production et la chaîne d’approvisionnement jusqu’à la vente du vêtement et à sa fin de vie. Ce mouvement a pour objectif premier de mettre un terme au gaspillage, de préserver notre environnement et de prendre en compte l’humain : en somme une mode éthique, durable et engagée.

 

Une consommation réfléchie

La consommation réfléchie : la mode durable. D’après le documentaire “Vêtements, n’en jetez plus !” diffusé en 2016 sur France 5, une femme achète en moyenne 30 kg de vêtements par an en France, dont moins d’un quart sera recyclé et seul 30% sera régulièrement porté. Or, une étude d’Opinion Way en 2014 a également dévoilé que 86% des Français aiment prendre leur temps avant d’acheter et que cela amplifie leur plaisir. De fait, ces chiffres signifient que les Français préfèrent réfléchir avant d’agir. La fast-fashion est donc en totale contradiction avec les souhaits et la nature des consommateurs de ce pays, et probablement de nombreux autres. La consommation réfléchie et en quantité limitée est la seule alternative viable et responsable aujourd’hui si l’on souhaite mettre un terme à la surproduction, ainsi qu’à la surexploitation de nos ressources naturelles

« Les vêtements ne vont pas changer le monde, les femmes qui les portent, si. » - Anne Klein -
 
De l’éthique, du durable et du rentable

Privilégier la qualité à la quantité donne un résultat éthique, durable mais aussi rentable En d’autres termes : tout ce dont la mode actuelle a besoin pour se responsabiliser et retrouver ses valeurs d’origine. Qualité, protection de l’environnement et des travailleurs, équité, production limitée, sont autant de valeurs représentant les marques de la slow fashion.

L’industrie, les marques, les consommateurs mettent du temps à changer leur comportements, et leur habitudes mais une prise de conscience de tous les acteurs est en marche. Les marques multiplient les actions, comme la signature par différentes enseignes du Fashion Pact ou encore Jules qui prévoit que d’ici 2030, 100% des matières seront issues de produits, fibres, matériaux recyclés; pour réduire leur gaz à effet de serre (production locale), avoir une démarche Zero Waste (ne produire que ce qu’elles sont en mesure de vendre) tout en s’engageant dans un vrai plan RSE. Les clients aussi évoluent dans leur manière de consommer en se tournant vers la seconde main (4/10 français s’y sont convertis*****), en privilégiant les éco-labels et les marques éco-engagées ( au cours des 12 derniers mois, les recherches pour des vêtements éco-responsables ont augmenté de 50% dans l’Hexagone******). Cependant l’un des principaux freins à l’achat responsable est le manque d’informations : mais là encore des applications telles que Clear Fashion , le Yuka de la mode, aident le consommateur à s’y retrouver.

“ Buy Less. Choose Well. Make it last” - Vivienne Westwood -

Le gouvernement essaye lui aussi d’apporter des éléments de réponse en interdisant par exemple la destruction d’invendus (qui génère aussi une perte de valeur) et plus largement en promulguant sa loi sur l’économie circulaire.

 

Au delà de cette prise de conscience et des initiatives déjà lancées il faut soutenir et accompagner ce changement. Nous devons agir pour que l’Industrie de la mode se transforme radicalement et durablement pour s’adapter aux nouvelles attentes des consommateurs, donner du sens au travail de chaque collaborateur, mieux protéger tous les acteurs de la chaîne de production, réduire son empreinte sur la planète et retrouver les chemins de l’innovation et de la rentabilité et ainsi devenir éco-rentable.
Fashion data, grâce à sa démarche et à ses solutions, met l’intelligence de la donnée au service de ce nouveau fashion business model Zero Waste.

En savoir plus

Sources :
* emarketing
** étude wwf sur la “fast fashion” publié en 2017
*** Le monde
**** Novethic
***** Fashion Network
****** Fashion Network

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.